For a Journey called Life

“Can you take me to Sivan Koil flats, Vadapalani”, I asked the auto driver while getting in. “Sure Sir, tell me the way once we reach Vadapalani”, he said. Just then, I realized that I didn’t know the way and of course I had climbed into this auto hoping the driver would know the way. Left without a choice, I had to board another auto, whose driver knew the way.
This incident had me thinking. Not because I see everything philosophically, but it was a long trip from Velacherry to Vadapalani and I had a lot of time to kill. So bear with me if this gets boring.
But, I am sure it happened to a lot of us. How many times have we got into an auto thinking the driver will know the way? I mean these are stuff we take for granted and it works most of the time. It is only when these assumptions fail that we are left stranded. Life is pretty much like a journey and we just blindly believe that we will be taken where we are meant to go. We try to find a meaning behind every meaningless thing that happens to us, believing on a greater plan, and leaving the rest to fate. Well, I believe life is a journey, but you are not a passenger, you ARE the driver. Take control and make your life meaningful. Sure you can ask for directions on the way but it is up to you to get yourself where you want in life. When you are lost, retrace your steps and start again. And the most important thing of all: Don’t forget to enjoy the view. It’s a one time trip, so take your time and have fun on the way too. Like the adage goes “It is the trip that counts more than the destination….”
2 thoughts on “For a Journey called Life

  1. Shri says:

    Oh! Just saw the post a comment box here . ..

    1. I mean these are stuff we take for granted and it works most of the time – So true !!

    2. Take control and make your life meaningful. – \m/

    Thanks Kishor! 🙂

Leave a Reply

