The Date

It is not eight yet
Tick tock tick tock tick tock tick tock
It is not eight yet
Shiny watch and a pressed suit
Taming that unruly hair seems moot
Tonight is the night of all nights
Crooked tie and this shoe bites
I know I am lucky to get this date
She’s the one there is no debate
It is not eight yet
Tick tock tick tock tick tock tick tock
Is this clock broken?
I watch myself in the mirror
Wondering still what she saw in me
Though I would do anything for her
Reason escapes why she chose me
It’s been a year, I still can’t believe
I asked her out and she stared at me
“Yes”, she said much to my relief
To the silly guy that is me
Is it eight yet?
Tick tock tick tock tick tock tick tock
Time for my date and am ready as ever
A romantic dinner and then a walk
Hand in hand and eyes doing the talk
This girl deserves everything
Everything else and a little more
But all I had to offer was one thing
“My life and my love”, said I with a knee on the floor
I looked up and saw her eyes wet
She gave a smile and my heart it swept
“Yes”, she said without a moment’s hesitation
 To the silly guy covered in perspiration
One thought on “The Date

Leave a Reply

