The Bedtime Story

Taking over the story from Karthik Pk who wrote the previous chapter to this ever-so-unpredictable story here.

“Dad!! Please stop”, pleaded Priya

Her father Ashok had to turn his gaze from the wall to her. He was so engrossed in his story that he even forgot she was there. He looked at her face and cracked a sheepish smile.

“Sorry, kiddo! Guess I went a bit too far”, he said

“It’s fine dad! You are a wonderful story-teller. But I am finding it hard to keep up with all these various genres you’ve been jumping through.”

“Bu….but didn’t I tie it all together in a nice twist at the end?” defended her father.

“Yes, you did! But all I asked you was a story about mom.” said Priya lowering her head now “You know how I miss her and you keep bringing her up in the story.”

Ashok opened his mouth to say something but he couldn’t find the words. He just hugged Priya.

Raising a 6-year old daughter has been the hardest thing Ashok had done these past few weeks. Especially without his wife by his side, even a simple bed-time story was getting out of hand.

“There there kiddo!” Ashok consoled Priya “What do you want to know?”

Priya cheered up a little hearing this, “Mom used to say it was a funny story how you two fell in love. Tell me that story!” she finished in one breath.

“Fine! Sit back and listen. This is the story of how I met…” Ashok was interrupted by the sound of the bedroom door creaking open.

“Aren’t you supposed to be sleeping?” came the voice behind the door.

“MOM!!” exclaimed Priya jumping out of her bed. She ran over to the waiting arms of her mother and hugged her tightly.

The sudden impact made her mother lose her breath a little, “I missed you a lot my sweetgums”

Ashok was elated seeing his wife back from her official tour after a month.

“I am glad you are back Swetha. This little slugger was getting too much for me to handle”

“Oh come now! I am sure she was taking care of you rather than the other way around” laughed Swetha “Did he make you listen to all his ideas for the novel he is writing dear?”

Priya nodded slightly

“Traitor!” smiled Ashok.

“I guess it is time for bed for you, missy” said Swetha finally

“But dad was about to tell the story of how you guys fell in love”

“Oh! A non-fiction story eh?” queried Swetha looking at Ashok

“Based on a true story. But no promises on the non-fiction part” said Ashok

“Fine! Let’s hear it then. Tomorrow is Sunday so I guess it is fine if you stayed up a little late” declared Swetha

The family huddled together as Ashok turned his gaze back to the wall like he always does when he narrates a story.

 

I am handing the story over to Srilakshmi who I trust will have a few final twists to end this roller-coaster story. All the authors before me had done a stupendous job and I have made a humble attempt to give this story my own take.

This is an entry for the “Tagged” contest by Author Kaarthika and The Chennai Bloggers Club. Kaarthika’s new book “Tagged” hits the amazon store on the 29th of May 2016.

One thought on “The Bedtime Story

Leave a Reply

