I for Ihana

Adam reluctantly joined Renata and the kids. The kids suggested playing scrabble. Adam teamed with Karen and Bill teamed with Renata. As time wore on, Adam relaised he was actually having fun. The kids took to him pretty quickly and they adored their aunt Renata. Soon it was bed-time.

“The kids really gravitate towards you”, said Adam as he carried a sleeping Bill to his bed.

“Thanks, I think they like you too”, said Renata carrying Karen who was asleep too.

They tucked the kids in bed and went down to the kitchen to have a drink. Adam observed Renata.

“So what just happened?”, Adam asked.

“Huh?”

“Don’t get me wrong. I had an excellent time with you and the kids but there must be a reason you brought me here.”

“Well,…ummm I don’t know how to say it. This is kinda weird but I wanted to know whether I could get serious about you, about us”

“And you thought spending a day at your sister’s place was the way to find out?”

“No, spending time with the kids. I love these kids and they are a big part of my life. If the kids didn’t like you then I…don’t know. Maybe this was stupid but…”

“I get it”, chuckled Adam “I’ve seen people use their dogs to see if a potential partner is a good person or not. You used the kids.”

“Now if you put it that way, it makes me look bad.”

“Haha! not at all. I think it’s cute. I love the way the kids see you too. Any girl who can make children happy is a fine one in my books.”

“Thanks!”

“So did I pass the test to be a serious partner?”

Renata didn’t answer. She went over to Adam and kissed him.

“I’ll take that as a yes”, said an overjoyed Adam.

As the two huddled together to watch a movie in the sofa, Renata’s sister finally came home. After some introductions, the two bid goodbye to the sister and headed towards Renata’s place. As Renata drove, she saw a tired Adam sleeping on the passenger seat. She couldn’t help but chuckle at how peaceful he looked. In her mind she couldn’t help but think that this was just the beginning of a beautiful story….

 

Leave a Reply

