O for Olló

Linda had to wipe her tears off as they were blurring her vision. She felt sorry for Ben. Ben was still looking out the window with his back tuned towards Linda. She quietly approached him. She looked at his face from the side to see a silent tear escaping his eyes.

“Oh, Ben! I don’t know what to say”, began Linda

“There is nothing you can say now. You already said yes and we lived a lifetime, before you were taken away from me.”, finished Ben.

“Sometimes, I wonder…”

“Sometimes, I do too”

“About the life we shared?”

“No, was it me who have lost my memory? It would be so easy to know there is a truth I don’t know and I am just living a lie. But it isn’t, is it? You don’t remember me and I live with the memory of us”

“I tried Ben. Believe me, I tried..”, Linda began crying

“I know you did. I did too. I tried to remind you, I tried to forget you. I failed!”

“Do you hate me for leaving you?”

“I wish I could. It would be easier that way.”

“What do you want me to do, Ben? I don’t think I am ever going to remember you and I can’t bring myself to fall in love with you again doubting every second if I am as good to you as I was before. I know you don’t care but I do. It is too much pressure living up to myself and that too without remembering anything about what kind of a person I was before”

“I know.”

“Then what do you want me to do?”

Ben brought his hand up and held it towards Linda. She gave him her hand and he thrusted something cold into her hands. She opened her palm to see a key.

“I would like you to have this apartment. It is the last thing to remind me of us and I don’t want it anymore. Do what you like with it. Tear it down or even sell it. It is under your name anyway.”

Linda looked at the key and looked up at Ben. His eyes showed hurt. She just nodded.

“Let me take you back to the park”, said Ben.

The two closed the doors of the apartment and on their previous lives and headed back to the park for one last walk together.

 

THE END

 

 

Leave a Reply

